What Our Customers Are Saying

We value our customer’s feedback about our proven process!

Unless you know a guy who knows a guy, IFR6 is an unbeatably efficient and effective way to get your instrument rating. IFR6 scheduled DPE Wally Moran, who was refreshingly reasonable and fair, for my checkride before I ever showed up on Day 1, and I had ZERO surprises on my oral & practical thanks to Guillaume, my instructor, who flawlessly prepared me for success. If you have airline aspirations like me, justify the cost by accepting the fact that seniority is everything – don’t waste time playing scheduling games at a traditional flight school. Time is $; you can do it!

After finishing my private pilot in January 2018 and taking my 1st Part 121 dispatch job in March, I put my instrument rating off while timebuilding, knowing that I would eventually get it, but uncertain as to when.

That all changed after scud-running under low ceilings for the entirety of a 300nm xc flight in August that resulted in a more memorable flight for my passengers than I ever intended. I knew I had to prioritize getting my IFR rating as soon as I could secure a 6-day stretch off from work.

Then one day while slaving away at the desk, I saw in a celebratory Facebook post that my former classmate at American Airlines flight attendant training Isabelle (seemingly magically 😂) got her instrument rating through IFR6. I was so inspired that I finally came up with the funds and set off in my 1969 Cessna 172 for a long cross-country from Appleton to Charleston, SC.

After running into freezing rain and clear icing for the 1st time in KY and N. Carolina, deviations turned my planned 787nm journey into a 1000+ nm 12 hr marathon, where I ultimately made it to South Carolina before getting stuck 50 miles north of Charleston due to 700’ cloud ceilings. How fatefully ironic that IMC got in the way of the start of my IFR training! I kept IFR6 updated on my progress, and WOW Mike called me the morning of Day 1 to let me know that he and Guillaume would drive the 1.5 hrs to me to help fly my plane in – true customer service!!!!!

I couldn’t have imagined a more perfect IFR training experience: the weather in Charleston is so pleasantly mild in the Fall; taking off over the flotilla of C-17s parked on the ramp at Charleston Air Force Base was amazing; driving by the final assembly line of brand-new 787 Dreamliners on the way to and from the airport every day was the best motivation that an aspiring airline pilot could dream of. The highlight of my week was getting cleared for takeoff before a heavy 747 Dreamlifter!

If you still have any doubts about choosing IFR6, read all 20 reviews below like I did just now while reflecting on my personal experience. I’ll highlight Matt Morris’ comment that the RedBird simulator is gold because if you make a mistake or need time to process, you can simply pause/restart instead of pissing away expensive flight time repositioning.

When you decide that IFR6 is for you, ask for Guillaume, who was relentlessly upbeat and jovial every day, and an even better human being. It’s amazing to think that in 6 short days, I went from having never shot an approach before to being signed off for a checkride.
-Jonathan Chen, November 2018

I was probably not the typical IFR6 student. I had plenty of “hood time”, was comfortable shooting approaches, and had a good scan. So what’s the problem you ask? For me, it’s check rides. I have never walked into a check ride feeling confident. I had a DPE tell me I was the worst case of “check-ride-itis” he had ever seen. I could ride with my instructor or a complete stranger with no problems but you put a DPE next to me and I get really anxious and make mistakes. After multiple instrument check ride failures my instructor recommended IFR6. I signed up and flew to KCHS and met with Michael (the owner) and Guillaume (my instructor). When I explained my issues to Michael and Guillaume they said let’s go for a flight to see what you’ve got. We did and I shot approaches into airports I’ve never seen before with no mistakes. Upon landing Guillaume pointed out my weakness. The problem wasn’t my flying (my technique and ability was fine) but I had no system, no routine, no flow. Guillaume fixed that pretty quick! We worked on a flow that took me from pre-flight to taxi to take-off to cruise to approach to landing. He taught me to stay ahead of the airplane no matter what. We worked the flow in the simulator. We worked the flow in my plane. We worked the flow under the hood, partial panel, in real IMC. You name it, we worked it. I especially liked the simulator because if you make a mistake you can simply pause and restart instead of spending precious flight time repositioning yourself. Guillaume and IFR6 instilled a confidence (not arrogance) that I’ve never had before. By the end of the week it didn’t matter what you threw at me I felt like I could handle it because I was always ahead of the airplane. So for the first time ever I walked into that check ride with confidence and passed. I cannot thank them enough for this course. I am a firm believer of spreading the word about a solid product and IFR6 is one.
-Matt Morris, October 2018

I was a little skeptical that you stuck me with the instructor with the weird name, but Guillame Petin is the best instructor I have ever had. He was relentlessly upbeat, never doubting the outcome. Frankly, I was. You and Guillame helped create one of the best days of my life. When Wally Moran shook my hand after the last approach and said congratulations on being an instrument pilot, I actually cried a little tiny bit. Not enough to notice. Thank you!
-Steve Abernathy, October 2018

The week literally flew by and I honestly had a lot of fun everyday. The curriculum is intense and I feel that I left Charleston a better, safer pilot. You have an awesome team made up of some quality individuals who truly enjoy what they do; that is what makes the experience. I really appreciate everything you all have done for me and I will forever have great things to say about IFR6.
-Jon Burchfield, September 2018

Let me just start by saying thank you for a fully immersed IFR training experience.  From day one and up to the checkride, it was quite an experience.  The Redbird full-motion simulator is an essential tool to prepare you for the workload that is to come when you are actually flying approaches.  Then there was the vast selection of surrounding airports near KCHS that were just minutes away allowing the necessary training for the various approaches.  And “Thank You” to Kirk Bray, my instructor, for the preparation during all phases of the training that successfully guided me through the oral exam and checkride.
-Jeremy Ross, September 2018

After working on my instrument rating off and on for almost 2 years, IFR6 was the solution I had been looking for to get my ticket done. If you’re like me and have an extremely busy schedule, or just can’t seem to get the IFR rating knocked out, I would highly recommend IFR6 to help you get across the finish line. Thanks to Guillaume for his great instruction and the entire team at IFR6 for helping me get my instrument rating effectively and efficiently making me a safer pilot in the process.
-Tyler Harper, August 2018

My experience at IFR6 was exactly as advertised. Fly in VFR and go home IFR! I can’t say enough about how accommodating and professional the IFR6 team was. Guillaume was the best instructor I’ve ever flown with and he did an awesome job of making sure I was proficient at every single task before the check ride. The sim training was incredibly helpful and being able to hit pause and discuss approaches and procedures was great! I believe that these 6 days of intensive IFR training are the only way to get an instrument rating and feel comfortable putting it to use. If you want an instrument rating, this is the only way.
-Aeron Fount, July 2018

I had been working on my IR for several months and making steady progress, but a combination of work, aircraft maintenance, weather and schedule conflicts made me realize that completion would take time and that “real life” would continue to get in the way.  IFR6 gave me the perfect environment to get me over the finish line.  By spending 6 days in an intensive, focused environment away from home and work distractions, I was able to finalize and polish my skills with a great syllabus that was geared towards getting my rating successfully.  My instructor Kirk Bray was excellent – a great, low-key teaching style that was perfectly suited to letting me figure out where I needed additional work and helping me find the confidence in my instrument skills.  Once the exam started, I wasn’t really nervous – the oral was an enjoyable conversation about instrument flying between two pilots.  During the flight test, I had confidence in my ability to fly the airplane and complete the required elements.  It was actually a fun experience!  I can’t recommend IFR6 highly enough if you’re looking to get the IR behind you and get confidence in your skills.  The next day, I filed IFR for a family visit in Charlotte (and did my first approach in actual IMC), and then flew all the way back to Houston under an IFR flight plan with some of that flight also in actual IMC.  You really will fly in VFR, and fly home IFR!”
-Joel Mack, June 2018

Best training program I’ve ever come across so far! I had a great time and y’all are awesome! I’m already referring you to all my friends.
-Isabelle Streng, May 2018

Thanks so much to Guillaume and the IFR6 team for walking me through instrument training. I’d been putting off the rating too long for lack of time and the IFR6 style of training was exactly what I needed to get through it. The redbird sim was an incredibly efficient way to learn each procedure without the down time between preflight/departure/droning between waypoints required in the airplane. There wasn’t a wasted moment as Guillaume worked me through the syllabus. I’m planning my first IFR-flight-planned flight later this evening! Feel free to use my info as a reference if anyone is curious about the training.
– E. Ross, May 2018

IFR6 should be the industry standard! Show up with the prerequisites completed and there is no reason why you cannot walk away an instrument rated pilot after day six. Mike and his team have the syllabus down to a science; they use the Redbird simulator to train the task, then use the airplane to reinforce it. If an approach gets away from you, it’s simply reset, discuss, and rerun. No more wasted time in an airplane where the distractions are many. Mike, Kirk and Guillaume are personable and easily approachable; top notch professional who can field any question thrown at them. If an accelerated program is what you are looking for, look no farther!
– J. Swan, May 2018

The only way to truly become comfortable in IMC and/or IFR training is to immerse yourself in the knowledge and skills. IFR6 has solved the problem of “half-assing” the process. Allow me to explain, you dedicate the time (6 days) you show up and fly, whether it is the simulator to test and repeat your areas of weakness, or being around the A grade instructors to learn from them. Flying in IMC and being able to apply these skills learned in IFR6 makes you a better pilot! In my opinion every private pilot should be required to go through IFR6 it is the only way to be an IFR pilot who is confident in IMC.
– J. Weathers, January 2018

IFR6 is the only way to train for your instrument rating! On day one, I was in the simulator within twenty minutes reviewing power settings, programming the Garmin 430w and flying patterns. That afternoon, Kirk , the CFI-I, and I departed KCHS VFR on Rwy 15 with winds 170@17g24 for practicing what I learned in the sim. The ceilings continued to fall and we had to file IFR to return back to KCHS. After forty-five minutes in actual IMC at 2000 feet being vectored to the ILS Rwy 15, we broke out at 800 feet with Rwy 15 in front of us. What a feeling! The Redbird simulator does a very good job of building the confidence and skills to take to the plane. The Redbird is also incredibly efficient. Instead of a preflight, getting a clearance, taxing and flying out of Class C airspace to the practice area and the short trip back, the sim is set up at the beginning of the pattern or approach. I figure this gives you at least an extra hour of actual IFR practice for every trip in the plane not to mention the time needed to get reset up for the next approach. Flying out of KCHS gives you the practice needed to become comfortable with ATC. I came from a small field where it was a treat to have more than me in the pattern. Six days later, on my check ride with my DPE, I’m holding third in line for takeoff behind a 737 and a King Air waiting on a 747 cargo to clear the runway. Kirk is awesome. He will have you prepared for the check ride. These guys live and breathe aviation. It’s fun to hang around folks with the same passions. By the end of the first hour the nerves are gone and you are totally immersed in IFR training. Bottom line…I highly recommend them for your IFR training.
– G. Mullis, January 2018

A huge thank you to Kirk and Mike for this awesome week with IFR6. After taking a long time to get my pilots license, I decided to do an accelerated IFR course. I really did my research – I made a list of every accelerated course in the country, read their reviews and considered their cost. IFR6 ended up being the winner. Being able to escape the cold for the warmth in Charleston was an added bonus! Every day follows a similar pattern – you spend the morning in the simulator, shooting approaches, or doing other things like scan development or holds as needed. Then, for the afternoon you use the plane (I used their Skyhawk) and do the same things in the air. This method really works – you develop your skills quicker, and it’s much more cost effective since you’ll spend more time in the sim (which is included in the base IFR6 cost) rather than the plane. Kirk is a real asset for IFR6. IFR6 is the main CFI’ing he does, so he knows the program and the common pitfalls inside out. He also has a very gentle and encouraging teaching style that is a stark contrast to many CFI’s! He’s pretty much the perfect type of instructor for this course. The day of my checkride had actual IMC, and I had to file IFR in the system (usually the checkrides are done VFR, but with foggles). The wind was also gusting, making altitudes harder to hold, etc. However, I felt the program had prepared me very well, and the checkride went smoothly. It’s crazy to think that a week before I wouldn’t have felt comfortable or safe doing this, but here I felt totally in control, and I knew I would be fine to fly in real IMC and fit in the ATC system.
– S. Jenkins, Dec 2017

Truly as good as it gets. I did the IFR6 program in September 2017. Mike runs a tight ship, and the instructors are a more-passionate and enthusiastic group than you would find at a puppy-mill flight school. This team is doing it because they love it. The team of instructors and management are humorous and personable more than most of the time, and yet deadly-serious when they need to be, just as you would expect. My IFR6 instructor, Kirk, is in a class by himself among the CFIs and CFIIs I’ve flown with over 26 years when it comes to adapting to the learning style of his student. The entire team encourages you to ask as many questions as you can think up, and if you request them to challenge you in certain ways to suit your experience, style, knowledge gaps, or aircraft type, they are happy to oblige and don’t consider it to be an “extra.” The team’s mastery of their Redbird simulator is apparent and they will let you bang out patterns and approaches til your heart’s content. It may be a little-known fact that the IFR-6 graduates are welcome to come back and practice in the Redbird whenever they like… an excellent perk.
– M. Russell, July 2017

Learning to fly an airplane solely by reference to instruments is almost like learning another language. Most would agree that the best way to learn a new language is by total immersion. Attempting to converse with the waiter in his native tongue once a week is not a very effective way to become fluent. Similarly, the once a week (or less often in most cases) that a student spends with his CFII is inefficient. I was looking for a better way to get this rating and found IFR6 through a google search. I was intrigued by the organization of the curriculum and, after a little more research and a call to Mike, I decided to take the plunge. I wanted to learn in my Bonanza but I live several states distant and the weather was not looking good for a VFR pilot to make it to Charleston. Not a problem as Mike came to Little Rock and we flew back together the next morning. The arrival at Charleston gave me a lot of confidence for the coming week as we had to shoot the ILS into 33 in moderate rain at night. We broke out around 400 feet and let me tell you, no approach lights ever looked better to me! Mike was a calm and reassuring presence in the right seat throughout. The next day I met Kirk Bray who proved to be a fantastic teacher. His calm demeanor and encouraging style was just what I needed. As advertised, we started each day in the sim which allowed me to become completely comfortable with my scan and my ability to control the airplane in turns, climbs and descents improved with each session. The afternoon was spent in the airplane. The time goes by fast and soon it was time for the checkride. I went into it with a nervous confidence but was assured by Kirk that I was ready and I was quickly put at ease by my DPE Wally Moran. The oral was a low stress conversation with another pilot (a very accomplished and knowledgeable one!) followed by the practical. It went well and I flew home 600 miles IFR the next morning. The very next day I made 2 short trips in IMC! The key to success is to come prepared and to come with confidence that you will be successful. Kirk and Mike have been doing this for a while and it is a program that works! Thanks Kirk and Mike!
– R. Lowery, Nov. 2017

Can’t say enough about Kirk Bray, my CFII for the IFR6 course. “Above and beyond” are the right words, because while each day has a 9am start, the day is not over until everything on the syllabus *and* your own list of items in the same topic areas have all been achieved. This is a personal touch by the CFII on a flat rate. Need to jump back into the sim late in the day to see something one more time? No problem. You go home to do the homework each night tired but confident. My favorite part was how they spend all of Day 1 to learn about you, the student, your experience and learning style. This makes the remaining days go smoothly and you get maximum time to hammer away at the sim and real airplane. CRAFT has established a robust curriculum for the IFR6 program, which they consider valuable IP (I agree), but how they fine tune it to the particular student is the more impressive part. I was able to bring my own list of “soft spots” to work on, which the instructor added to his own list after watching me fly, and together we built a decent candidate for the “additional license to learn” that is the IFR ticket.
– M. Russell, September 2017

One year after taking my written test and making very little progress on getting the practical training done for my IFR certificate I learned about the IFR6 program. While I had done some prep work prior to going to the IFR6 I was doubtful that I could actually get it done in just one week. I figured I would at least make some good progress towards my ticket and finish up after I got home. It turns out the IFR6 training was very efficient. The repetition in the RedBird each morning was very effective at building muscle memory in preparation for the afternoon flight in the airplane. On the afternoon of the sixth day I had my check ride. On the morning of the seventh day I was able to fly three hours of actual IMC safely on my way home with IFR ticket in hand. The program is very well structured and organized and the instructors are very professional.
– Marvin McCreary, June , 2017

The same winning process of learning in the sim and practicing in the plane that they use for the PPL worked exactly the same for the IFR. There is plenty of time to make mistakes and learn from them in the sim. When you get to the plane it feels like you have already “been there, done that”. I received my IFR certificate on April 1 2017, no “fooling”. Fantastic learning environment and people, well worth the investment and time… Many thanks to all involved in such a wonderful experience.
– Kris Miller, April 2017

the IFR6 program was exceptionally professional and well run from start to finish. The syllabus is particularly well crafted to the material and timeline, and the simulator provides an incredible training experience that cannot be duplicated. Highly recommended to anyone considering accelerated or non-accelerated IFR training.
– Gerald “Scooter” Harmon, April 2017

Blown away by the class. You can’t get a grasp at doing IFR training right by doing rides at .7 hour one week, .9 the next. I was worried at first it would be too quick, but I don’t think this training can be done any other way. Best learning experience ever. Amazed at how it all came together at the end. Kirk is fantastic, laid back and calm. I just can’t say enough about how happy I am about the experience.
– Bill Gerard, February 2017

Drop Us A Message

We’d love to talk to you about your specific challenges. Use the form below to create a battle plan with our team.

Check The Weather